Colorlessness

Colorlessness

Eventually, we all lose the perfumed,

bejeweled world, beyond which lies

silent anarchy. The yellow of burnt grass

evaporates like fumes. Poof! The green

of leeks is gone. You’re robbed of the rich

ripe browns of feces, the ringing inner

pink of grilled beef. The watery gray

of writing and drawing ink fades away

too. Clear-seer, observer of matter’s

never-ending attempt to reduce or augment

itself into just light, does color’s flight

prefigure your coming nothingness: mud to flesh

to thin air, or will some tendril at last

burst from you: saffron, black, or earwax

orange, to scare the pants off both atheists

and verse mongers – a spindly rebellion

germinated for ages, not in follicle or marrow,

but in the maypole of our emotions: fear,

whose multicolored ribbons flutter

and flutter like nerves branching

from a backbone – they twitch and sting

but can never be grasped. Throughout

the pervasive gray of disgrace, the purple

of complaint, despite your alternating caresses

and attempts to shrug me off, I swear

by the reek of the dung heap, by the slip

and slide of white silk, by the feelings

you stupidly unleashed in me, I will never

lose you completely in the gathering tide

of colorlessness, due to love’s stubborn tint.

By Amy Gerstler in Crown of Weeds, Penguin Books, 1997

About marystonepoet

I am a writer, editor, teacher, student. Currently in the MFA program at the University of Kansas - I will graduate Spring 2012. My first poetry collection will be out in March 2012. I am mainly a poet but have published in fiction and nonfiction and I love writing work that blends or blurs genres and forms. I'm really interested in the body and writing about loss, in addition to writing about the fluidity of sexuality. Motherhood and it's complications is also a subject matter I try to tackle a lot as well. In addition to writing, I edit Stone Highway Review, a journal for poetry and very short prose. I read for a number of journals, including Gemini Magazine, A Capella Zoo, Echo Ink Review. I am also a co-editor of Blue Island Review. It's important to me to be as involved in the literary journal scene as possible. I have a husband named Dustin who is very supportive and a very cute dog named Rufio. He is a toy poodle and the only thing that keeps me sane. I love to drink good beer, but am currently on a diet that doesn't really allow a lot of beer, sadly. If you read a lot of my work, you will see a major presence of alcohol... there are a lot of complicated reasons for that.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Poems to share and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment